Ideally located, originally at the confluence of the Dordogne and Garonne, Bourg has played a key role in the region’s history. It was built in Roman times, fortified by the English and visited by several kings, such as Louis XIV in 1650: his time here was to give birth to a delicious speciality of Bourg: the King’s Fig. Explore the narrow streets and enjoy a coffee in a street cafe. Or meander along the roadway that overlooks the port and take in the breathtaking views. Experience the silence if you visit during the lunchtime. Nothing moves. It’s as if the town has emptied itself of people.
The cave of Pair non Pair is decorated with parietal engravings representing horses, ibexes, cervids, mammoths and cattle dated Aurignacien (between 33 000 and 26 000 years before Christ). Moving testimony of the artistic awakening of the humanity, it is one of the most remarkable decorated caves of the beginning of the upper Palaeolithic. It was discovered near the valley of Moron in 1881 by an eminent local archaeologist, François Daleau. We owe this find thanks to a cow which clamped its hoof in a hole. In Lascaux, 60 years later, it was the dog which opened the way by falling in a hole...
PRICES 2013 At full price adult: €7,50. The commented visit is limited to 18 persons and lasts 45 minutes. We advise you to book in advance. OPENING HOURS 2013 Open every day except Monday, on January 1st, in May 1st and December 25th as well as according to the imperatives of preservation. From September 16th till June 14th: visits at 10:00 am, 11:15 am, 2:30 pm, 4:00 pm. From June 15th till September 15th: visits at 10:00 am, 11:15 am, 2:30 pm, 3:30 pm, 4:30 P.M. and 5:30 pm.
Explore this narrow and picturesque cliff road which goes from Bourg to Blaye. Discover pleasant flowery gardens of fishermen's ancient houses, remarkable houses nested in the heart of the cliff, curious huts perched above waters.